top of page

nyc study tour: day V

X The Met

X Soho

X Bloomingdales

X Chinatown

X Ladurée

X Macy's Flagship

X Brooklyn Bridge

X Brooklyn

X Grand Central Station

Today started off way more casual since we are finished with industry visits. We went to The Met and saw the Manus x Machina exhibit about fashion in an age of technology. I also really wanted to see Picasso's painting that I worked on in one of my theatre classes all last semester, so I got to see that. The roof of The Met is rumored to be the best view of the skyline, even better than the Empire State Building, or at least that is what we heard; it was gorgeous. Pictures cannot do anything justice. I got the largest hot pretzel I've eaten and ate on the Met steps, as Blair Waldorf would. I wore my headband the whole time while at the museum, just 'cause I was getting my 'Blair' on. We took the subway a ton today. Soho was pretty cool, tons of great stores. Bloomingdales was one of our stops, along with Pharrell Williams' boutique. Ladurée was a suggested stop from a woman that I met on one of the industry visits. It so happens to be considered the best place in NYC to get French macarons. I felt as if I was in a real Parisian patisserie; all of the employees were French and the decor was magical. Another treat in Soho was the Magnum dipping bar. Hailey Baldwin had been there a couple days previously. The Macy's flagship store (a.k.a. world's largest store, est. 1858) covers an entire city block and looked like a mall on the inside. We rode the original wooden escalators up and down to and from the 11th floor. LeighAna, Bethany, and I then began our unexpectedly long journey to Brooklyn. We rode the subway for awhile, walked the entirety of the Brooklyn Bridge, had pizza in Brooklyn and walked the entirety of the Manhattan Bridge back to Manhattan. So much exercise. We accidentally got on the wrong subway and ended up at Grand Central Station, which was serendipitous, because I wanted to see that anyway. However, I did not find my lonely boy (GG fans understand). We have an entire day to do whatever we want tomorrow and I have no idea what I am going to do.


bottom of page