top of page

chicago hoppin'

I spent New Years Eve in Chicago and boy, was it cold. I went to visit my friends, J and Bethany, and I wanted to ultimately see what the city was like in the Winter, as I have only been there during the Summer. I have so many recommendations for you if you visit Chi.

Mana Digital Dive - OKAY, soooo one of the coolest places I have ever been. I did not even realize places like this existed. I sent my brother videos, because he would totally be into it. So basically, it's a place with a bunch of desktop computers and gaming systems. There's couches and TV's too. (The guy said they have the OG WoW!!!) We played Mario Kart and I was...not very good, BUT in my defense, I am used to my Nintendo DS Mario Kart. (:

Susie's Drive-In - This place is SUPER cute. Open 24 hours a day, with two drive-in windows, a gazillion milkshake flavors to choose from, and the tastiest fries, YUM. It's so retro, they have burgers, sandwiches, subs, and most importantly, the shakes. Here's a screenshot of all their flavors that I got from the website.

First Ascent Avondale - I had never been to an actual rock-climbing place before this. My only rock-climbing experience was that wall inside the gym in elementary school. I don't wanna brag, but I think I did alright for my first time. I would definitely do it again.

Joy Yee - If you're in the mood for Pan Asian, go here. The menu was super intimidating and huge, but that's a good thing! And bubble teas galore! I had seafood shabu shabu, so tasty.

Emporium - This bar is one I for sure want to go back to. Filled with arcade games, pinball, and a warm aesthetic. They had Tron, GoT pinball, and Ms. Pac-Man...yes, please. Bring your quarters!!

Chicago Diner - VEGAN FOOD RULES. I have never been vegan, I did rock that veggie life for awhile, still kinda do, although I am flexible if I want to try new things...ANYWAYS, this place is cool. This is where I learned what seitan was. Meat made from wheat flour, you can't even tell. Creepy or awesome? Either way, it was tasty.

AH! Life is good. (:


bottom of page